Taekwon-Do

General information about Taekwon-Do

Taekwon-Do (TKD) is a modern martial art which was developed in the 1950’s for the korean military forces by a korean general named Choi Hong Hi. Translated into english, TKD means  “the way to strike with hands and feet“. Tae represents the kicking techniques, Kwon the punches and hand strikes and Do the path that is taken by the practicioner.

Throughout decades, Taekwon-Do gradually transformed from a military sport into a sport that can be learned and practiced by everyone. It is currently the worlds most popular martial art with more than 50 million practicioners worldwide.

The training is divided into patterns (tul), free sparring (matsogi), breaking (kyek-pa), self-defense (hosinsul) and functional strength- and mobility exercises. Taekwon-Do therefore represents a complete martial art,  different to fighting sports like Kickboxing or MMA which are limited to competitive sparring only.

 

 self-defense outdoor training Black Bear Taekwon-Do Erlangen
The self-defense is one of five major subjects in Taekwon-Do training.

 

The most significant difference compared to other martial arts lies in the strong emphasis on kicking techniques in TKD, which are often delivered while turning the body and/or jumping into the air. One could think that Taekwon-Do can only be learned by particularly flexible and strong people – but the opposite is true. Everyone who is willing to learn, can learn Taekwon-Do! The goal is not to be the fastest or strongest - but to work and improve continuously.

Apart from the physical excersice, the goal is to internalize the 5 tenets of Taekwon-Do:

  • Courtesy
  • Integrity
  • Perseverance
  • Self-control
  • Indomitable spirit

We want to teach martial arts in a way that everyone can learn in the most suitable environment for her or him. This is why classes for children are taught separately from adults.

To learn more about adult's classes, click here, for children's classes here.

Children in a Taekwon-Do light competition
With proctective gear, even children can take part in light-contact or semi-contact sparring

 

Belts exames passed with us are globally accepted and recognized by the International Taekwon-Do Federation (ITF). We provide the opportunitiy to participate in seminars and competitions regularly.

 

Das alte ITF-LogoDas neue ITF-Logo

Taekwon-Do

Taekwon-Do in Erlangen

Taekwon-Do (TKD) ist eine moderne Kampfkunst, die in den 1950er Jahren vom koreanischen General Choi Hong Hi für das koreanische Militär entwickelt wurde. Frei übersetzt bedeutet Taekwon-do „der Weg, mit Händen und Füßen zu kämpfen“. „Tae“ steht dabei für alle Fußtechniken, „Kwon“ für die Handtechniken und „Do“ für den Weg, den der Ausübende während seiner Ausbildung beschreitet.

Mit der Zeit hat sich der Sport von seinen militärischen Wurzeln entfernt und ist zu einem Breitensport geworden, der von jedem erlernt werden kann. Etwa 50 Millionen Aktive weltweit machen TKD zum beliebtesten Kampfsport der Welt.

Black Bear Taekwon-Do Erlangen Selbstverteidigungstraining

TKD Selbstverteidigungstraining

 

Das Training gliedert sich traditionell in Formenschule (Tul), Kampf (Matsogi), Bruchtest (Kyek-pa), Selbstverteidigung (Hosinsul) sowie funktionelles Kraft- und Beweglichkeitstraining. TKD stellt damit eine ganzheitliche Kampfkunst dar und ist klar von reinen Wettkampfsportarten wie Kickboxen oder MMA abzugrenzen.

Optisch unterscheidet sich TKD von anderen Kampfkünsten vor allem durch die für den Zuschauer beeindruckend dynamischen Fußtechniken, die von fortgeschrittenen Schülern oft gesprungen und/oder gedreht ausgeführt werden. Aber keine Angst:  man muss weder besonders gelenkig noch kräftig sein, um TKD zu erlernen! Im Gegenteil – jeder, der lernwillig ist, kann Taekwon-Do erlernen.

Neben den körperlichen Zielen gilt es auch, die 5 Grundsätze des Taekwon-Do zu verinnerlichen: Höflichkeit, Integrität, Ausdauer, Selbstkontrolle, Unbezwinglicher Wille.

Da Kinder und Erwachsene unserer Meinung nach sehr unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse haben, sind unsere Gruppen nach dem Alter aufgeteilt. Zur Zeit gibt es drei verschiedene Altersgruppen bei uns: Kids (5-7 Jahre), Kids (8-13 Jahre) und Erwachsene (ab 14 Jahren). Mehr über das Erwachsenentraining erfährst Du hier: Erwachsene. Über das Kindertraining kannst Du Dich hier schlau machen: Kinder.

Kinder beim Taekwon-Do Wettkampf

Kinder beim Taekwon-Do Wettkampf: gefahrlos möglich dank Schutzausrüstung

Bei uns erworbene Gürtelgraduierungen sind weltweit gültig und anerkannt durch die International Taekwon-Do Federation (ITF). Es besteht regelmäßig die Möglichkeit der Teilnahme an überregionalen Lehrgängen und Turnieren.

International Taekwon-Do Federation - LogoITF - old logo